School of Choice

St. Joseph County School of Choice

SPS is offering a limited School of Choice Program for 2018-2019.

We will accept unlimited School of Choice applications in grades K and 12.

Others will be accepted under limited circumstances:

Child(ren) of employee.
Sibling(s) of student(s) already accepted through School of Choice.
Current Sturgis student(s) who move to another district and wish to remain.
Ninth grade resident of Nottawa Community Schools.
Student has completed all grades offered at a non-public school located within the SPS boundaries.

The nine school districts in St. Joseph County, with the support of the ISD (Intermediate School District) , are offering a School of Choice Program for 2018-19.  Sturgis will be offering a limited program, as outlined above. This School of Choice Program allows families a choice to attend any public school within St. Joseph County ISD.

The following schools are participating in the St. Joseph County School of Choice Program:

Burr Oak Community Schools
Centreville Public Schools
Colon Community Schools
Constantine Public Schools
Mendon Community Schools
Nottawa Community School
Sturgis Public Schools
Three Rivers Community Schools
White Pigeon Community Schools


Question:  I am looking at the School of Choice program.  What do I do now?
Answer:  The best thing to do is to call Karen Stimson at 269-659-1502.  She is located in the District Office at Sturgis Central Commons.  You can get all of your questions answered and pick up an application packet or request mail delivery.

Question:  What is the overall process for enrolling in School of Choice Program?
1.  Select your district of choice (where you want your child to attend).
2.  Submit your child's completed application at the Sturgis Central Commons ASAP, if you meet the district restrictions.
3.  Receive notification of acceptance or non-acceptance from Sturgis Public Schools after the district has reviewed your child's application.
4.  Complete necessary enrollment forms at your choice school listed on acceptance letter.

Question:  What if I live in Branch (Calhoun, Cass, Kalamazoo or Van Buren) County?
Answer: There is a program agreement between counties, however there are two windows for acceptance per year, and the same restrictions apply.  Call the number above for more information.